Welkom op onze vernieuwde site. | i.v.m. de drukte bij de pakketdiensten kan de bezorging 1 tot 2 werkdagen langer duren.

Avni Doshi,Burnt Sugar
Burnt Sugar
€ 24.95

Bij u in huis op: donderdag
Bestel vóór: 21:00


Longli'sTed For The Booker Prize 2020

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill's Weather, Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Diana Evans' Ordinary People

'Utterly compelling, complex, unflinching realism - sometimes emotionally wrenching but also cathartic, written with poignancy and memorability' The Booker Prize Judges 2020

'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian

In her youth, Tara was wild. 'she abandoned her loveless marriage to join an ashram, endured a brief stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents), and spent years chasing after a dishevelled, homeless 'artist' - all with her young child in tow. Now she is forgetting things, mixing up her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her.

This is a love story and a story about betrayal.

But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. 'sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt 'sugar unpicks the slippery cords of memory and myth that bind two women together, and hold them apart.

'Taut, unsettling, ferocious' Fatima Bhutto, author of The Runaways

'Acerbic, full of wit and cool intelligence - every sentence is a coiled spring and each psychological portrait burns itself into the mind. I couldn't put it down' Olivia 'sudjic, author of Exposure and 'sympathy

'Crystalline, surgical, compulsively readable. An examination of toxic relationships and the ties that bind us' 'sharlene Teo, author of Ponti

'Daring and deliciously dark, Burnt 'sugar will keep you gripped until the very last sentence' Zeba Talkhani, author of My Past is a Foreign Country

'Raw, wise and cuttingly funny on love and cruelty, marriage and motherhood, art and illness, and one woman's fight for her sense of self' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of 'starling Days

Text in English


Taal / Language : English

Extra informatie:

Paperback / softback
240 pagina's
Juli 2020
252 gram
215 x 135 x 18 mm
EAN: 9780241441510
Hamish Hamilton us

Bij u in huis op: donderdag
Bestel vóór: 21:00